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IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS – PLEASE READ AND FOLLOW 
PRIVATE INVESTIGATION AGENCY**  

 
Applications are accepted by mail or drop off only. Applications must be accompanied by a legible, 
notarized copy of your driver’s license, one fingerprint card with classifiable fingerprints, applicable 
fees and one color passport sized photograph or a color facial photograph that is 2”x2” or smaller.    
 

Please allow at least 15 business days after submission of your application before calling the 
Licensing Unit, repeated phone calls will only slow down your application process. 
   

QUALIFICATIONS 
The qualifying party must meet the criteria listed in Arizona Revised Statute §32-2422 (A). 
All partners, LLC member/managers, and corporate officer/directors must meet the criteria listed in 
Arizona Revised Statute §32-2441(A). 
 

WORK EXPERIENCE 
The qualifying party must provide written documentation verifying three years of full-time 
investigation experience.  Written documentation can be provided in two forms:  

a. Letter(s) from previous employer(s) verifying at least three years full-time investigative 
work experience.  

b. Documentation verifying at least 6,000 hours of investigative work experience. 
 

You may also submit documentation from an agency from which you retired or were previously 
employed. This documentation may be in the form of retirement papers, performance evaluations, or 
military records such as DD 214, NCOERs, OERs, etc. (a DD 214 alone is insufficient evidence - we 
also need the copy that shows the type of discharge received). The document must explicitly state 
that you have the required investigative experience from verifiable sources. Failure to provide 
sufficient documentation of your experience from appropriate sources will result in the rejection of 
your application. 
 

APPLICATION  
Please submit a private investigation agency application for the qualifying party and a private 
investigator registration application for every partner, LLC member/manager, and corporate 
officer/director.  Each applicant must specify the purpose of the application by marking the 
appropriate box in the Private Investigation Agency or Private Investigator column.  All applications 
must be filled out completely and the agency (qualifying party) application must be signed before a 
notary public.  If the qualifying party’s (agency) application is not signed before a notary public, 
fingerprint card is not submitted or fees are incorrect the application will be returned without further 
action.  Applications that are otherwise incomplete will be accepted and the qualifying party will be 
advised of the items that need to be completed before the license can be issued.   
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AGENCY APPLICATION: SECTION A   APPLICANT INFORMATION  
Please ensure you include any space, unit or apartment number in your home address. Other names 
you have used including aliases, name before adoption, maiden name or previous married name. 
 

AGENCY APPLICATION: SECTION B   REQUIRED 
Complete side two of application, then return to this section and answer the questions. This section 
must be signed, dated and notarized. 
 

AGENCY APPLICATION: SECTION C   EMPLOYMENT HISTORY  
List your past five years of employment and any other employment that relates to your qualifications 
for a license.  Please list any Private Investigation agency licenses you have held or currently hold in 
other states and include a copy of each license.   
 

AGENCY APPLICATION: SECTION D   AGENCY INFORMATION  
A name must be selected for the agency.  You should check on the availability of your preferred 
agency name before registering it with the Arizona Corporation Commission or Arizona Secretary of 
State by calling the Licensing Unit at (602) 223-2361. The principal business address must be the 
physical address from which the agency will do business and does not have to be an Arizona 
address. A separate mailing address may be used. Only branch offices in Arizona need to be listed 
with addresses and phone numbers.    
 

AGENCY APPLICATION: SECTION E  AGENCY STRUCTURE  
Indicate the agency structure by marking the appropriate box.   
 

Sole Proprietor - The qualifying party alone will operate the business as the sole owner. By 
definition, a sole proprietorship cannot have any associates.  Sole proprietors may register the trade 
name under which they are doing business with the Arizona Secretary of State.  The bond must be 
written to the qualifying party and the private investigation agency.  If a trade name is used the bond 
must also show the trade name (e.g. John Smith dba John Smith Investigations).   
 

General/Limited Partnership - A partnership is an association of two or more persons to carry 
on as co-owners of a business for profit.  List all partners in this section.  Partnerships must submit 
a copy of the partnership agreement with all partners’ signatures notarized on the agreement.  The 
bond must be written to the qualifying party and the private investigation agency.  If a trade name is 
used the bond must also show the trade name (e.g. John Smith dba John Smith Investigations).   
 

General partnerships may register their trade name with the Arizona Secretary of State. 
 

Limited partnerships must register with the Arizona Secretary of State under certain circumstances 
and should consult applicable statutes and rules to determine specific requirements. 
 

Limited Liability Company (LLC) - A company with at least one owner organized under 
applicable statutes to conduct business.  List all member/managers in this section.  Submit a copy 
of the Articles of Organization bearing the received/approved stamp of the Arizona Corporation 
Commission. Any subsequent changes that affect the list of member/managers of the company must 
also be submitted to the Arizona Department of Public Safety Licensing Unit.  Acompany that 
intends to do business under a trade name must include that trade name in the Articles of 
Organization or register the trade name separately with the Arizona Secretary of State and provide a 
copy of the trade name registration to the Licensing Unit.  The bond must be written to the 
qualifying party and the private investigation agency.  If a trade name is used the bond must also 
show the trade name (e.g. John Smith and John Smith Investigations, LLC dba Smitty’s 
Investigations).          
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Corporation - List all officers, members and directors of the corporation in this section.  Submit a 
copy of the Articles of Incorporation bearing the received/approved stamp of the Arizona 
Corporation Commission.  Any subsequent changes to the Articles of Incorporation that affect the 
list of officers or directors must also be submitted to the Arizona Department of Public Safety 
Licensing Unit.  A corporation that intends to do business under a trade name must register that trade 
name with the Arizona Secretary of State and provide a copy of the trade name registration to the 
Licensing Unit. The bond must be written to the qualifying party and the private investigation 
agency.  If a trade name is used the bond must also show the trade name (e.g. John Smith and John 
Smith Investigations, Inc. dba Smitty’s Investigations). 
 

Foreign LLC/Corporation- A company organized or incorporated outside Arizona must apply to 
the Arizona Corporation Commission for authority to transact business in Arizona.  A copy of the 
approved application and the Articles of Organization/Incorporation must accompany the application 
for an agency license.  A foreign corporation that intends to do business under a trade name must 
register that trade name with the Arizona Secretary of State and provide a copy of the trade name 
registration to the Arizona Department of Public Safety.   
 

AGENCY APPLICATION: SECTION G   GENERAL  
Describe the specific nature of the investigative services the agency intends to perform.   
 

REGISTRATION APPLICATION FOR ASSOCIATE(S)   
Associates are defined as partners and corporate officers. If the agency has associates, the qualifying 
party must mark the associate application block in the private investigator column of the private 
investigator registration application and then complete and sign the employer/licensee section of 
each associate’s application. The associate must complete the employee/applicant section of the 
application and sign it.   
 

FINGERPRINTS*** 
Fingerprints may be taken at law enforcement agencies, commercial enterprises or private parties 
that administer fingerprints. The person administrating the fingerprints does not have to be certified, 
but does have to sign the appropriate box on the fingerprint card. Classifiable fingerprint cards of all 
applicants must be submitted with the application.  Criteria for classifiable fingerprints are listed on 
the back of the card.  Fingerprints, which are not classifiable, will be returned with the application 
and fees.  Do not use highlighter, fold or bend the fingerprint card.  If you must fold the card, ensure 
the fold is along a blue line.    
 

AUTHORIZED SIGNERS  
The qualifying party can designate employees who are authorized to sign employee registration 
certificate applications.  This designation must be submitted to the Licensing Unit in writing and 
must include a sample signature of each designee. Only the qualifying party may designate 
authorized signers. 
 

BOND  
Do not obtain a bond until you have been notified by the Licensing Unit that you are approved 
to become an agency. The $2500 bond shall be executed by a corporation licensed to transact 
fidelity and surety business in Arizona and signed by the qualifying party as the principal.  The bond 
shall be continuous in form and run concurrently with the two-year period of your license.  The bond 
shall be in favor of the state for the benefit of any person injured by any acts of you, your agency, or 
your employees and is subject to claims by any person who is injured by these acts.     
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WORKERS COMPENSATION INSURANCE   
Do not obtain a workman’s compensation policy until you have been notified by the Licensing 
Unit that you are approved to become an agency. Workers compensation insurance coverage 
must be in force whenever the agency has employees.  An employee waiver of coverage does not 
relieve the employer of the requirement to obtain the insurance. The certificate of insurance must 
indicate that the Arizona Department of Public Safety, Licensing Unit, P.O. Box 6328, Phoenix, AZ 
85005-6328 is a Certificate Holder. A current certificate must be filed with the Licensing Unit upon 
each renewal of the coverage. Out of state insurance companies must certify that the coverage they 
provide extends to Arizona. 
 

RESTRUCTURE  
If you change your agency name or structure (e.g. sole proprietorship to partnership, or partnership 
to LLC, or corporation, etc.), the qualifying party must notify the Licensing Unit and submit a 
restructuring application, appropriate documentation and fees.  Restructuring fees will be waived if 
the restructuring occurs at the same time the agency license is renewed. A change of qualifying party 
cannot be accomplished by restructuring since the agency license is not transferable or assignable.    
 

RENEWAL   
The qualifying party is solely responsible for renewing the agency license before it expires.  
Agencies that intend to cease operations and not renew the license need to notify the Licensing Unit 
in writing.    
 

FEES*    
The Licensing Unit only accepts Money orders, Cashier’s checks, Agency’s business checks, and Cash.  

       EVENT          FEE 

  Agency Application (includes qualifying party)        $250  

  Associate Application (qualifying party not considered an associate)     $50   

  Issuance of Agency License          $400  

  Agency Restructure            $100   

  Agency Reinstatement            $250   

  Agency Renewal            $250  

  Agency Late fee          $100   

  Fingerprints (per applicant)***        $22   
 

*ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE    
 

**PLEASE REFER TO ARIZONA REVISED STATUTES AT:  http://www.azleg.gov/ArizonaRevisedStatutes.asp.  Then see Title 
32, Chapter 24 
 

*** The applicant's fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI. The procedures for obtaining a change, 
correction, or updating of your criminal history record are set forth in Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 16.34 
 
 

Please use the Mailing Address for all correspondence. 
If you have any questions, please call 602-223-2361 or visit 

http://licensing.azdps.gov 
 
 

Licensing Unit Office                  Mailing Address 
                                         Arizona Department of Public Safety                       Arizona Department of Public Safety 
        2222 W. Encanto Blvd.                  P.O. Box 6328  MD 3140 

            Phoenix, AZ 85009       Phoenix, AZ  85005-6328 
        Main (602) 223-2361       FAX (602) 223-2938 


