
 
ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY     FOR DPS USE ONLY  

SECURITY GUARD FIREARMS-SAFETY            Instructor # 
INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION  

 
 
 

      NEW APPLICATION       RENEWAL             
 
 

Arizona Department of Public Safety - Licensing Unit  
PO Box 6328 MD 3140,   Phoenix, AZ 85005-6328 

 
 
 
 

Please include the $50.00 application fee and a copy of your firearm instructor credentials.                                  
The DPS Licensing unit can only accept cash, money orders, and cashier’s checks. 
 
 

PLEASE INCLUDE A PHOTOCOPY OF A GOVERNMENT ISSUED IDENTIFICATION CARD:  Driver’s license, Passport, Etc. 
 
 
 

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT/INSTRUCTOR 
   LAST NAME              FIRST NAME                                            MIDDLE NAME                                                  

 
 
 

 
 
   DRIVERS LICENSE OR ID NUMBER                    STATE OF ISSUANCE                               SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

 
 
 

 
 

   GENDER:    MALE     DATE OF BIRTH (MM/DD/YYYY)     STATE / COUNTRY OF BIRTH   ORIGIN / RACE         HEIGHT                    WEIGHT                     EYE COLOR          HAIR COLOR   
 

 

 

                      FEMALE 

 

    HOME STREET ADDRESS       APT. NO.   CITY        STATE            ZIP CODE 

 
 
 
 

 
   MAILING ADDRESS (STREET OR P.O. BOX)      APT. NO.   CITY        STATE            ZIP CODE 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

   HOME PHONE                     CELL PHONE                              BUSINESS PHONE        E-MAIL ADDRESS   
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Please check “YES” or “NO” to each question below 

YES     NO 
Are you a resident of Arizona or a United States citizen?  If NO, you do not meet the requirements for 
obtaining an armed security guard training instructor certificate. 

 
 
 

 

Are you currently under indictment for a felony arrest or have you ever been convicted of a felony 
offense?  If Yes, you do not meet the requirements for obtaining an armed security guard training 
instructor certificate. 

 

Do you suffer from mental illness and have been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or committed 
to a mental institution? If Yes, you do not meet the requirements for obtaining an armed security 
guard training instructor certificate. 

 

Do you meet all of the qualifications of a firearms-safety instructor listed in administrative rules 
Title 13, Chapter 6, Article 7, R-13-6-701. 

 
 
 
 
 

Did you include $50.00 in cash, money order, or cashier’s check made payable to DPS for the 
Security Guard Firearms-Safety Instructor processing fee in your application packet? 

 
 

 
 

Did you include a current copy of the front of your NRA card showing the expiration date, Arizona 
POST certification, or Federal firearms certification in your application packet? 
 

I attest that, to the best of my knowledge, all answers on this application are true. I understand that I may be subject to 
criminal prosecution for falsification or misrepresentation of any document provided to DPS in the application process. I 
understand that falsification or misrepresentation is grounds for denial or revocation of instructor approval. 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
APPLICANT SIGNATURE         DATE 
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