DPS HomeSkip to the content of this page

 

Arizona @ Your Service
 Home  |  DPS Home Page |  Newsletters
Agency
Human Resources
Permits/License
Reports
Safety/Info
Final Roll Call
Public Service Sections
Links

Firearms-Safety Instructor

 

Security Guard Firearms-Safety Instructor for Armed Security Guard Training

The Security Guard administrative rules took effect July 10, 2006 (R13-6-101 through R13-6-704). Significant changes occurred related to Firearms-Safety Instructors for armed guards.

Link to the administrative rules for Security Guards 

Only an individual who meets the following qualifications is eligible to be certified by the Department under A.R.S. § 32-2632 as a Security Guard Firearms-Safety Instructor (R13-6-701):

1. Is a resident of this state or a United States citizen;

2. Is at least 21 years old;

3. Is not under indictment for and has not been convicted in any jurisdiction of a felony;

4. Does not suffer from mental illness and has not been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution;

5. Is not unlawfully present in the United States;

6. Is not a prohibited possessor; and

7. Possesses current evidence of completing one of the following firearms-safety training instructor programs:

a. Arizona Basic Police Firearms Instructor training provided by the Arizona Peace Officers Standards and Training Board;

b. Police Firearms Instructor Development School provided by the National Rifle Association;

c. Law Enforcement Security Firearms Instructor Development School provided by the National Rifle Association;

d. Training provided by the National Rifle Association that results in rating as one of the following:

i. Pistol Instructor and Personal Protection Instructor,

ii. Law Enforcement Tactical Handgun Instructor, or

iii. Law Enforcement Handgun or Shotgun Instructor; or

e. Firearms Instructor Training Program provided by a federal law enforcement agency.

8. If teaching a shotgun course for security guards, submit AZ POST or NRA documentation that shows the instructor is certified in the applicable competency.


To be certified as a New Security Guard Firearms-Safety Instructor:

An individual shall provide the following to the Licensing Unit:

1. A completed application form with the information listed in R13-6-702(A)(1)

2. The current evidence of completion referenced in R13-6-701(7); and

3. The application fee of $50.

4. Proof of identification, such as a photocopy of your driver's license, passport, etc.

     (FBI fingerprint fees are not required at this time, this is subject to change.)

 


To renew your Security Guard Firearms-Safety Instructor Certificate:

A certified security guard firearms-safety instructor shall renew the instructor’s certification every two years by providing the following to the Licensing Unit:

1. A completed application form with the information listed in R13-6-702(A)(1)

2. The current evidence of completion referenced in R13-6-701(7); and

3. The renewal application fee of $50

4. Proof of identification, such as a photocopy of your driver's license, passport, etc.

     (FBI fingerprint fees are not required at this time, this is subject to change.)

 


Once approval is completed, the Licensing Unit will issue an approval letter and add the instructor to the approved firearms training list. A copy of the curriculum and tests will then be furnished to the approved instructor.  

Security Guard Firearm Safety Instructor Application

Revised Lesson Plans for Security Guard Training


Arizona Department of Public Safety

Licensing Unit

PO Box 6328 MD 1160

Phoenix, AZ 85005

 

Phone: (602) 223-2361

Fax: (602) 223-2938  

 

 

Updated 11/14/14

Spacer used to seperate text

 

Privacy Statement

 

Copyright 2003-2008 Arizona Department of Public Safety, All Rights Reserved










 








»License Status  »Location Information  »Change of Address  »Disqualifiers-All Types  »Need a New Card?  »Fingerprints  »Fees  »Forms  »Security Guard  »Private Investigator  »SG Agency License  »PI Agency License