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IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS – PLEASE READ AND FOLLOW 
PRIVATE INVESTIGATION AGENCY RENEWAL 

INSTRUCTION LETTER** 
 

These instructions must be followed to prevent your agency renewal from being delayed. If your 
renewal packet is incomplete in any way, it will be returned to you for completion.     
 

If your agency license is not renewed before the expiration date, you and all partners, 
members, officers and employees must cease performing investigative activities subject to 
regulation by Arizona Revised Statute, Title 32, Chapter 24, and may not perform those 
investigative activities during any period between the date the license expired and the date it is 
finally renewed.   
 

Agency renewals will be accepted by mail or hand delivery to the Licensing Unit office.  When 
the renewal process is completed, the renewed license will be returned by mail.   
 

A. Agency Renewal  
Renewal applications may be submitted up to 60 days before the expiration date of the 
license. A renewal shall not be granted more than 90 days after the expiration date.   

 

Your renewal packet must contain:  
1. Notarized agency renewal application for the qualifying party with all sections 

completed.  
2. Notarized and legible copy of a government-issued photo identification card for 

the qualifying party, such as a state identification card or driver’s license. 
3. Renewal applications for each associate and/or employee.  
4. Fingerprint card with classifiable fingerprints for each applicant****. 
5. Two color passport sized or color facial photograph that is 2”x2” or smaller. 
6. A two-year continuation certificate of the surety bond that runs concurrent with the 

period of the renewal.  The principal on the bond must be “Qualifying Party’s 
Name dba Trade Name of Company”, if incorporated, “Qualifying Party’s Name 
and Corporation Name, Inc.” or, if incorporated but doing business using a trade 
name, “Qualifying Party’s Name and Corporation Name, Inc. dba Trade Name.”  

 

7. A copy of the current certificate of workers’ compensation insurance, when 
applicable.  Insured information on the certificate of insurance must include the 
agency name on the agency license.  If the insurer is located outside Arizona, 
the certificate must include a statement that the coverage extends to Arizona.  

 

8. A photocopy of the driver’s license, passport, etc. for each associate and/or 
employee. 

 

9. The qualifying party responsibilities list after you have read, initialed, and signed 
the list in front of a notary public. 
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10. A termination letter for any employee(s) who will not be renewing their license  
 

11. All applicable fees.   
The Licensing Unit only accepts Money orders, Cashier’s checks, Agency’s 
business checks, and Cash. 

 

Fees*:  $250 Agency license renewal fee (includes qualifying party).  
$50    Associate registration renewal fee (other than qualifying party)  
$22   Fingerprint card (each applicant)**** 
$100 Agency late fee if agency application is not mailed complete and 

correct by expiration date. *** 
 

B. Employee Renewal   
Incorrect or incomplete employee renewal applications will be rejected.    

 

Private investigator employees who renew their license with the agency must pay the 
renewal fee plus the fingerprint fee.  Employees who do not renew their licenses prior 
to their license expiration must pay the delinquency fee.   

 

If employee license renewal applications are submitted with the agency renewal 
packet, payment of fees for the agency renewal should be separated from fees for 
employee renewals.   

 

Employee renewals consist of:   
1. Completed renewal application, endorsed by the licensee (top portion).  
 

2. Properly completed fingerprint card with classifiable fingerprints****. 
 

3. One color passport sized photograph or a color facial photograph that is 2”x2” or 
smaller.  

 

4. Photocopy of driver’s license, passport, etc. 
 

5. All applicable fees.   
The Licensing Unit only accepts Money orders, Cashier’s checks, Agency’s 
business checks, and Cash. 

 

Fees*:  $50 Employee registration certificate renewal application fee  
$22 Fingerprint processing fee**** 
$10 Late fee***  

 

*ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
 

**PLEASE REFER TO ARIZONA REVISED STATUTES AT: http://www.azleg.gov/ArizonaRevisedStatutes.asp   Then see 
Title 32, Chapter 24.  
 

***If your application is post marked after the expiration date of your agency license, you must include the delinquency fee in 
your payment. 
 

**** The applicant's fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI. The procedures for obtaining a change, 
correction, or updating of your criminal history record are set forth in Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 16.34 
 

Please use the Mailing Address for all correspondence. 
If you have any questions, please call 602-223-2361 or visit 

http://licensing.azdps.gov 
 
 
 

Licensing Unit Office     Mailing Address 
  Arizona Department of Public Safety                  Arizona Department of Public Safety 
               2222 W. Encanto Blvd.             P.O. Box 6328  MD 3140 

 Phoenix, AZ 85009             Phoenix, AZ  85005-6328 
Main (602) 223-2361                FAX (602) 223-2938 


